No longer on Quora

A while back, Quora flagged my account as using a pseudonym and not a real name. Apart from flagging it, they suspended my account.

The process to get it reactivated seemed cumbersome, unnecessary and intrusive. I use this moniker in various other places which have not had a problem with it so far. And while social media is useful, the privacy issues have not been satisfactorily addressed so far(in my opinion).

Net result, I decided to delete my Quora account.

At some point, the processes and rules to manage a cloud service must co-exist with the rights of individual users. To flag a long term user as a violator of “Terms of Service” could be interpreted in various ways.

I still get email traffic from the blog asking for my opinion on various topics, and I plan to continue responding to these emails.

Tagged:

